Movie Review: Wuthering Heights PBS Masterpiece Theater

 

Cathy and Heathcliff

Cathy and Heathcliff

 

I’m not sure if any of you follow Masterpiece theater on PBS or not.  To be honest, I never did until the night of January 18 2009.  It was a Sunday night at precisly 9 p.m.  Nothing of interest was on.  As I was looking through the guide on my digital cable, and saw that Wuthering Heights was going to be on, I figured “why not”.  After all, I hold a MA in English and have read Wuthering Heights many times throughout my college career.

Now, this is where two obsessions start.  The first being that PBS Masterpiece Theater has become a staple on my television set at 9 p.m. sharp on Sunday nights to watch the newest rendition of a classic novel. The series itself is genius really and I don’t know why I never gave it the time before.  Silly me.

The second obsession became that of the British actor Tom Hardy. Sigh. Not only was this man a positvely brilliant Heathcliff, but he’s gorgeous to boot. It’s only fair to mention that the actress who portrayed Cathy, Charlotte Riley, was phenomenal as a new comer.  I’m on edge waiting to see what else I can see her in.

Tom Hardy was Heathcliff in every respect. I LOVED this adaptation of the book.  He completly got the part right and nailed every scene effortlessly.  I am now a huge fan of Tom and of Masterpiece Theater. I can’t get enough of either.

If you’re at all interested in the series, go to http://www.pbs.org and you can have a look around.

5 Comments

Filed under Movie Reviews

5 responses to “Movie Review: Wuthering Heights PBS Masterpiece Theater

  1. ITN Wuthering Heights running this Sunday afternoon on PBS!

  2. Kim

    Watched this last night. I didn’t enjoy the book, but this movie was phenomenal….superb acting. And yes, the women in the room were swooning over the “bad boy,” but I was the only one in the room that knew the “rest of the story.” We LOVE Masterpiece Theatre, and have a group of thirty+-something homeschool moms who are watching everything we can find. Jane Eyre was a recent favorite.

  3. Rachel

    I just hope I can see “The Take” on the internet since its on British TV only. ITN.

  4. daniellefreelances

    oh really? i cant wait to watch. thanks for the info.

  5. Rachel

    Tom Hardy is marvelous as Heathcliff! Charlotte Riley and him are going to be in the TV movie “the take”.

Leave a Reply

