Thank Goodness for Bookstores

bathMy weekend flew by. It was all about errands. I hit the super market, Borders, and a few other stops. I don’t know about you, but every time I go to a bookstore I get lost for hours. I was in Borders for three hours today and it felt like a half an hour. I start off in the Literature section. I gaze at my favorite classic titles lovingly. Lolita, Wuthering Heights, Pride and Prejudice, Shakespeare, Poe, Emerson, Whitman, and Lewis Carroll…just to name a few. Then I allow my eyes to graze over new titles and covers I’ve never seen and when one (or a few) catches my eye, my fingers strum through the pages. And more often than not, I add it to my basket. It finds a new home on my coffee table for a couple of weeks until I finish it then it accepts it’s permanent home on my bookcase until I chose to lend it out to friends or reread it. 

From the Literature section I then stroll over to the Reference section to find the writer’s instructional books. I’ll grab one or two and then head over to the magazine section. Chose a few favorite literary journals and make my way to the cafe. Order my favorite beverage then find the biggest leather chair I can and get lost in the lines of my book choices. Sometimes I purchase the mags but mostly (to save a few bucks) I’ll write down the website, if I don’t already know it, and favorite the web page to reference in the future. Same goes for the writing books. I do purchase some but mostly I’ll jot things down and add them to my writing  journals.

And before I know it….my afternoon is shot. Honestly I enjoy my bookstore time and I prefer to go alone. It’s a refuel for my soul. It’s important to renew yourself weekly I think. Whether it’s a steaming hot bath with a tall glass of red wine or a couple hours at a bookstore, finding yourself  BY YOURSELF is revitalizing. Try it sometime.

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging, Book Reviews, freelancing, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized, writing

One response to “Thank Goodness for Bookstores

  1. I’m part of the May Blogathon and am dropping by to say hi. I can spend an inordinate amount of time in Barnes & Noble, so I totally understand where you’re coming from! Sometimes I write down book titles I like and then request them from our library to save pennies.

Leave a Reply

