Inspiration for Writers

inspirationAhhhh, my fellow writers. We all need inspiration at one time or another. Some of us more so than others. I’d like to share with you some of my methods for collecting inspiration when I need it.

Scenery:   This one is simple. Most of us writers are trapped inside all day. Shut off your laptop and get up…for starters. Sitting makes you tired anyway. So stand up….stretch….then go outside and take in the greenery, the flowers, the leaves on the trees.  Listen intently to the birds chirping, the water running, or the rain falling. Bring your favorite notebook and pen with you. If you’re an artist, sketch something. If you’re a writer, then take a moment to free write. Write whatever comes to mind. Don’t allow for paragraphs or punctuation. Who cares if you have phrases rather than complete sentences. You can correct the writing later. For the time that you’re outside…inhale deeply….and let yourself CREATE.

Listen:    Again, turn off your computer.  Allow yourself to listen to the SILENCE.  Personally I love being alone….I revel in solitude. I love going shopping by myself, writing by myself, and going to the movies by myself. I think thats when you know your really happy with yourself when you can be alone and genuinely enjoy your own company. Grab a cup of tea or coffee and just listen to the silence. Have a notebook and pencil by your side and grab it as the creative juices start flowing. You’ll be amazed at how a few minutes of alone time can spark new ideas.

Music:  It’s no secret that music in itself is an inspiration for many. I’ve yet to meet a person who doesn’t find themselves in a creative mood while listening to music. I for one, enjoy classical music. It’s one of the most inspiring genres of music for me, but I’m open to suggestions for others. So, again, turn off your computer…walk away from it. Turn on some music…and maybe this time…you turn on a station that you don’t normally listen to…or go to Borders and pick out a CD of an artist you’ve never heard of. Dare to step outside of your box when it comes to this….I’m sure that you won’t be disappointed.

4 Comments

Filed under Blogging, freelancing, Random Thoughts, writing

4 responses to “Inspiration for Writers

  1. Pingback: Friday Five « Musings & Happenings

  2. papertigerpress

    Danielle- thanks for sharing your thoughts on inspiration, hopefully you are able to become inspired today.

  3. Pingback: Organization. It’s an art really. « Horrible Sanity

  4. Pingback: Inspiration for Writer’s

Leave a Reply

