A Writer’s Insanity

insanity?

Being an author is like being in charge of your own personal insane asylum.  ~Graycie Harmon

 

I was looking over some writing quotes that I have listed on my personal website and this one by Graycie Harmon caught my eye. How true it is though, no? I think so. 

I think writers in general are a walking insane asylum most of the time. I know for me, ideas are constantly getting in line inside my head in hopes of coming out in the form of words. Characters are hungry for the ink that will bring them to life. Even the mediocre ideas and story lines are eager for stardom. You don’t have to be a published author to have stacks and stacks of material. If you write at all, for pleasure or business, you’re a writer.

Like I have mentioned in some of my previous postings, I have been writing SOMETHING ever since I was small, be it poetry or short stories, articles or drawings. I was always producing filled notebooks and journals. Bookstores and hole in the wall coffee shops became my second homes.

I know lots of writers who are they same way. They have to write almost daily or they feel like something is missing. Writing is a healthy outlet for all, so is reading. And even if you’re not a lover of literature, reading a book can be an extremely calming sensation. 

Being in charge of your own insane asylum has its perks as well as its downfalls. It’s up to you as the writer to decide which direction your writing can and will take you in if you believe in yourself.

And hey, if all else fails, a padded room doesn’t sound all THAT bad. I hear that padded walls make great pillows.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, freelancing, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized, writing, Writing Tips

Leave a Reply

