Are You A Morning Or Night Person?

Night and Day

Question of the day: Are you a morning or night person?

I’ve been both. Allow me to explain.

Before becoming a mother, I lived life in the second shift. I was a complete night owl. While I was never much for the bar and club scene, I worked the second shift, went to the gym at night, and reserved the dark for my writing and editing.

I had a second shift job for many years. I would get out of work anywhere between 9 or 10 p.m., then I would head over to the gym and workout till 11 or 12.  I would go home, shower, and be up until 3 a.m. easily. I would sleep until noon or so, sometimes later, then I would get ready for work and do it all over again. I had no problems with the night, and I was really productive in the wee hours of the morning.

Once I became a mother, that all changed obviously. Staying up till 3 a.m. was totally out of the question. So, naturally, I adapted. I started going to bed early…really early. It took me some time to realize that trying to get work done with a child at home was damn near impossible. Being the analyzer that I am, I said “how can I make this work?” I needed to be able to be a good mother to my son as well as a good writer/editor to my clients. Both are equally important, and I needed to find a middle ground. So I did just that. I started setting my alarm earlier and earlier to be up before my son. One day it was one hour earlier, enough time for me to make a pot of coffee and THOROUGHLY enjoy it. The next few days it was a couple of hours earlier. I did this until I realized that getting up around 5:30 – 6:00 a.m. worked the best for me. It gave me a good, solid start on my day, my work, my schedule, my clients, my writing, and my editing. Oh…and some time to sip my coffee slowly…that’s super important.

Quiet simply, I adapted. I found what not only worked best for my son and myself, but also what worked best for my clients.

Please share your thoughts. I’d love to learn some of your early bird or night owl techniques.

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging, freelancing, parenting, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized, writing, Writing Tips

2 responses to “Are You A Morning Or Night Person?

  1. Mike L.

    Helpful post.

  2. I’m mostly a morning person, automatically getting up before 6 daily. Can’t sleep in. So it makes sense to clock out early at night. Though, if I need to or want to, I can be a night owl. Productively speaking, I can work whenever I decide to–morning, noon, night.

    Like you, however, I do like my morning time with my coffee. I like to linger with the newspaper or magazines, or watch the news.

  3. Night owl! I’m attracted to the quiet darkness and get most of my work done at this time. I go to bed around 3am and sleep during most of the morning. I have a tendency to become so distracted during the day that I can barely recall how I’ve spent my time.

Leave a Reply

