Color Therapy

colorful

 

“Mere color, unspoiled by meaning, and unallied with definite form, can speak to the soul in a thousand ways”    -Oscar Wilde-

 

Color. Think of it as you will…a color on a paint brush, a flower, a shirt, a candle, a picture, whatever comes to your mind first when you think of color.

I like how Wilde points out that color in it rawest form can mean more to one person than the Mona Lisa means to the world. Just a dot of red on a blank canvas can have infinite meaning to someone.

I’m sure for those of you that are artists, either you’ve heard that quote before or you’re familiar with the way virginized color can excite the senses. 

Don’t get me wrong, I know the results of color studies say that green is calming and whatnot. But its never dawned on me to really study a color when it isn’t attached to an object or a meaning. 

I normally allow color to take me on a renewal journey. When I need inspiration I turn to color. Whether it be that I go outside, or I go to the park, sometimes even a museum. I allow for the colors to mix with my senses and my writing instincts look to grab a pen. 

If I’ve had a stressful day, I’ll relax on my couch and light purple candles, because for me, I find purple to be calming. 

I guess that’s what Wilde is getting at. Different colors mean different things to different people. Share your story…what color invokes your senses?

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, freelancing, parenting, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized, writing, Writing Tips

Leave a Reply

