Yes, I’m a Twilight Fan

New MoonFor any of you that watched MTV’s Movie Awards last night, it will come as no surprise that Twilight took the win in just about every category. I’ve never seen anything like it on the MTV Movie Awards actually. The Twilight phenomena is HUGE….that’s not even the right word…colossal, immeasurable, mammoth, massive…you get the picture.

I am a humongous Twilight fan. I know, the writing isn’t all that great, and the story could have sat in a drawer for a few years and marinated, then gone back to and rewritten in some parts. But the plot is what grabs me. A forbidden love between a vampire and a mortal. How can you not be a fan of such a taboo? I was a late bloomer when it came to reading the books however. I picked up the first book days before the movie opened. I kept telling myself it couldn’t be a good story line…it’s a teen thing. But because I kept seeing the books everywhere I went, after a while, they almost started calling to me. Every time I walked past a display of Twilight books in Borders, my fingers ached to arch the binding and fan the pages. I skimmed the paragraphs quickly until one day, I purchased a copy of the first book. That was it. I was hooked. I finished the entire series (there are four books total) in a week. I did nothing but immerse myself in the love that is Edward and Bella. I couldn’t wait to read on. I didn’t even turn on my computer for a week. I read every chance I got during the day, and I would stay up late into the night curled up on the couch. My friends couldn’t find me because I wasn’t answering my phone. I was in Forks, at Edward’s house, looking in on him and Bella.

Stephenie Meyer had me so tangled in the love between her two main characters that I had to tear myself away from the books to come back to reality. Stephenie created a wonderful world. Her writing isn’t top notch by any means, and I really had to put my college degrees on the back burner to get through the books. They’re an easy read. You could easily finish the first book in a few hours.

Nonetheless, Edward Cullen is dreamy. And the phenomena that is Twilight is huge. The New Moon movie, which is the second book in the saga, is due out in November of this year. Seeing a sneak peek of the trailer at the MTV Movie Awards was heaven for me last night. I can tell it already looks like it’s going to be a hundred times better than the first movie, because, lets be serious…the first movie was terrible acting for the most part.

I am not ashamed to call myself a fan of the series. It’s in no way as good as Harry Potter, but it has caused quite a stir in the entertainment field.

Call me what you will. A Twilight fan, a Twilight mom, A TwiHard….whatever. I’m in too deep to get out. And I can’t wait to see how Summit Entertainment handles the next two movies.

Share your Twilight commentary….I’d be delighted to know if you’re a fan or not.

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Book Reviews, freelancing, Movie Reviews, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Yes, I’m a Twilight Fan

  1. Lou

    Lol, me too, late bloomer, but sooooo in love with Edward hehe. I finished Twilight yesterday (less than a day of reading, distraction of kids and housework included) and now devouring New Moon. Can NOT wait for the movie’s release here in a couple weeks time. I’ve still not gotten sick of watching the first.

  2. Pingback: Some Secrets of the Freelance Life « Horrible Sanity

  3. Yea Danielle! I knew that’s why clicked! I’m a Twilight Mom too! I don’t care what anyone says Edward is hot! I was dying to see the New Moon Trailer!!!! Maybe we should have a New Moon movie watching “twitter” party on November 20th!! I’ll be there! Great blogpost.

  4. yonia

    That’s what happened to me as well! Late bloomer in the Twilight series 🙂

  5. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! Can’t wait til November-I am going crazy over here..

Leave a Reply

