Curling Up With A Good Book

good bookI took last weekend and stayed home. And when I say stayed home…I MEAN stayed home. I had done any errands previously during the week and purposely kept my schedule open on the weekend to do nothing except relax. I don’t recall ever leaving the house.

As I thought about what I should do with my 48 hours of free time, I could feel an unspoken and understood longing emanating from my bookshelves. I casually strolled over and inhaled. I adore the smell of books. That delicious scent of a book’s binding, and the way that the pages unintentionally take on the smell of their surroundings lures me close to their silhouettes every time.

I ran my fingers over each title as I read it and carefully chose the one that best danced off my tongue.

I vowed silently to myself to only rise from the couch to eat, sleep, drink, and go to the bathroom. Other than that, I wanted nothing more than to sit and curl up with my literary find. If you visit my blog frequently, you are more than aware that my love for reading and writing overpowers most everything that I do. So naturally, choosing a weekend to do nothing with would wontedly lead me to one or the other.

To read with nothing but silence around you is exhilarating. I get completely enveloped not only in the book, it’s plot, and the characters, but also in myself. I reflect on my weak areas as well as my strong points. I sometimes see myself in the characters and can’t help but wonder “what if?”

I read and read. I didn’t even turn the TV on. It was fantastic. It was magical. It was rejuvenating.

Try it sometime.

11 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Book Reviews, freelancing, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized, writing, Writing Tips

11 responses to “Curling Up With A Good Book

  1. Pingback: iPad? iPod? No Thanks. « Horrible Sanity

  2. Pingback: Writers Should Write Daily « Horrible Sanity

  3. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

  4. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..

    -Bill-Bartmann

  5. Good for you! I could spend every weekend that way. In fact, I plan to spend this very evening curled up with a brand-new book (one I’ve been anticipating for a long, long time). Reading is food for the brain and it nurtures the soul. Ah.

  6. Excellent site, keep up the good work

  7. Cool site, love the info.

  8. I’ve hardly been able to find time to sit down and read a book cover to cover in the last few years, so I recently dedicated a Saturday afternoon to Dave Eggers’ You Shall Know Our Velocity. I enjoyed it so much that I repeated the experience the next day with another book.

    A lot of my friends would consider it a ‘waste’ to spend a day like that, but it really is one of my greatest pleasures. I’m looking forward to the next time I can squeeze a book’s worth of time out of a day.

  9. Jim

    GREAT post and suggestion!

    I do this anytime that I can – just to sit around and get lost somewhere else is needed once in a while.

    I remember last year, my when wife was pregnant, we took and entire day, blew up an air mattress, and put it in the living room. I ran to 7-Eleven, got two giant slushies (love those pregnancy cravings!) and we watched in order Resident Evil 1-3. It was a great day.

    Jim

    BTW – I’m going to link this post to my blog:
    http://www.WritersnWriters.blogspot.com

  10. Angelia Sims

    Sounds like heaven! You describe reading so perfectly, makes me want to find that place too. Been too busy to be still and read.

Leave a Reply

