A Mother’s Unconditional Love

unconditionalI first felt the powerful bond of a mother-child love when I looked at the pregnancy test. That fleeting second that I found out I was pregnant changed me forever.

I knew there was no going back to my old self. The feelings and thoughts I had prior to becoming a mother washed away with the incoming tide of motherhood. I would never again think only of myself. I now thought and did for two.

It’s very rare, almost non-existent, that I am speechless. Within that wonderful moment of finding out I was going to be a mother, I was at a complete loss for words. My emotions took the reigns. My brain had yet to comprehend what was taking place within my womb. I was developing my son with every passing second. I was also becoming a mother at the same time.

I savored and adored my pregnancy and unborn child. I would sit for hours caressing my engorged stomach, full with new life. I talked to my son as if I had already bore him. I knew he could hear me and he would often kick me to reassure me he enjoyed our conversations. Even then, my motherly love enveloped him. I knew I would never love anyone or anything more.

When the day came that I brought my son into this world, I had given birth to a new me as well. I’ve never felt so powerful, so life giving, and so enormous in my life. Enormous in the sense that there was nothing that would ever keep me from my child. I had all the strength and courage in the world to nurture and protect my new baby.

Within moments of holding him, I memorized his scent and his movements. I could have picked him out of the nursery blindfolded if I had to. We had the bond. That impermeable mother-child bond. Never before had I felt such immaculate love and conception. I was his and he was mine. Nothing in this world could break our ties. I had created, nourished, and given life to the most beautiful little baby that I had ever seen.

My son is three now and the unconditional love I felt the moment I knew I was going to be his mother hasn’t wavered the slightest. If anything, it grows stronger everyday. I need my son just as much as he needs his mommy.

We sleep together, we laugh together, and we play together. I feel most vibrant when he is nestled in my arms at night sleeping soundly. When I gaze at his perfect face I can’t help but be overcome with emotion. Tears run down my face and I lick the salty liquid that is pure love.

Until you become a mother you never really understand the bond between mother and child. It moves mountains and plants seeds of love in everything that it touches. A mother is not a force to be reckoned with, but a gentle giant that cradles the body of the most important being on the planet.

When I hear my son call “mommy” I know angels are flying within that decibel of sound. The stream of silent, unconditional love runs to and from my son and I. He loves me, but I adore him more than life itself.

Please share your comments below. Mothers learn from each other in the most loving ways.

3 Comments

Filed under Blogging, parenting, Random Thoughts, Uncategorized

3 responses to “A Mother’s Unconditional Love

  1. Venus

    Danielle,
    I know exactly what you speak of. I had my first child…a daughter just 3 weeks ago, and the immense love I have for her is something that I can not put into words. I haver never felt this way and I now understand what my mom has spoke of through the tough years with my sibligs and I. Unconditional love is the most powerful thing in the world…I wish we could all possess this emotion for everyone. Motherhood is so special.

    @ Dianna,
    Your words and interpretation of motherhood is so poetic and profound. I pray for your family. Thank you for sharing.

    @ Fiona,
    You shed light on a very misunderstood and treatable condition. As a social worker, I understand and emphathize with those that have suffered with post partum depression. It does not take away from the feelings of uncondtional love that are still possessed for new baby.>.that is why there is soooo much shame and guilt involved. Thank you as well for sharing.

  2. Dianna

    Hi, Danielle–

    I have two daughters and a son, all of whom I love very much. The youngest daughter is 21, and I have become less focused on parenting in the last few years, as it should be. My babies are leaving home to each find his or her own way in the world, and the parting is bittersweet. I am also experiencing the mother-child bond in a different way these days, as I prepare to lose my mother to terminal cancer. We cling to each other and to our memories now, and our moments together are tender and bittersweet. It is a strange parallel: preparing to let go of my children and my mother at the same time. May God be with all of them.

  3. fiona campbell

    danielle,

    i just had to write and tell you how truly lucky you are, i never had that bond with either of my two girls, i had severe post natal depression with psychosis and i waited and waited for that bond you speak of. i love them now, after years of medication, but i missed those early days of bonding and it hurts. i would lay down my life for my girls but i just wish i had known that its actually ok not to have this magic bond, that not everybody is as fortunate as you, that it will come eventually, sometimes very slowly. there were posters up all round the maternity ward and i’ll never forget them, a couple were smiling down at their new baby and saying ‘we didnt know it would be this wonderful’, those posters made me cry silent tears inside. it is so important that we support those mothers that are lost and lonely in motherhood, terrified of their own thoughts and emotions. i think it is just worth saying that i had no underlying mental health issues before getting pregnant, post natal depression can strike anyone and these mothers need our help.
    love to all xxxx

Leave a Reply

